Whst'd home  > Clubs & Charities

Parish Councillors | District Councillor | County Council | Parliament | Europe | Local party
 General  |  Top Key Issues (pdf)  |   FOCUS

Updated 21 June, 2012

Liberal Democrat Parish Councillors:


Cllr.Judy Shardlow, 28 Dale Ave, Gustard Wood, Wheathampstead , AL4 8LS.  01438 833858



The Parish Council has 12 Councillors - 1 Liberal,  3 Tory,  1 Labour,  6 Independent.
The Parish phone number is.  Tel:  01582 832541.  
email  julia.warren@wheathampstead-pc.gov.uk

Go top

Liberal Democrat District Council Representation

Alderman Chris Oxley Pilgrim Cottage, Coleman Green, Wheathampstead AL4 8ES
Phone 01582 834238;
e-mail chris@lesmar.com

Following the District Council elections in May 2011 Chris Oxley lost his seat by 22 votes after 19 years serving the community.

As a former Mayor of the City & District he was elected as an Honorary Alderman.

Whilst Chris is not a Councillor he remains happy to use his experience and contacts and endeavour to help village residents with problems and issues they may have.

As of May 2012, the District Council consists of 19 Liberal Democrat councillors, 29 Conservative councillors, 8 Labour councillors, 1 Green Party councillor and 1 Independent councillor. 

District Council - Tel: 01727 866100   www.stalbans.gov.uk 

The next District Council election is in May 2014.    If you need a postal or proxy vote for these elections please contact Alderman Chris Oxley.

The District Council is responsible for 

  • council houses
  • planning
  • street cleaning
  • rubbish and recycling collection
  • licensing
  • leisure activities
  • museums
  • markets
  • council tax collection on behalf of County, District & Parish Councils & the Police

Go top

County Council

The County Ward covers Wheathampstead and Redbourn (St Albans Rural). In recent years the County Councillor has been either Liberal Democrat or Tory. The latest election was in June 2009.  The result was Liberal Democrat 1,953 (41.78%) . Tory 2,105 (45%). Labour 172. Greens 420.  Tories retained the seat by 152. The County Council now has 17 Liberal Democrats, Labour 3,  Greens 1,  BNP 1,  and Tories 55.

The County Council is responsible for issues such as Roads & Environment, Education & Youth Services and Social Services.  Their phone number is 01992 555555 or facsimile 01992 555644.  Chris Oxley will be happy to take up "County" matters for you.  He can be contacted on the telephone 01582 834238  or e-mail chris@lesmar.com   See www.hertscc.gov.uk 

The next County Election s are due in May 2013

Go top


Wheathampstead comes within the Hitchin and Harpenden Constituency a seat currently held by the Tories.

In the 2010General Election the seat was retained by the Conservatives.  Nigel Quinton received 14,598 votes being 26.7% (an increase over 2005).

The Liberal Democrats are now in coalition with the Conservatives in Parliament.

You can contact Lib Dems.
at www.hitch-harp-libdems.org.uk  or www.libdems.org.uk 
and www.stalbanslibdems.org.uk

Go top


Wheathampstead comes within the Eastern Region.  Our Euro MP is Andrew Duff MEP Orwell House, Cowley Road, Cambridge CB4 OPP

Phone: 01223 566700; Fax: 01223 566698; e mail mep@andrewduffmep.org

His contact details in Brussels are Phone: 00322 284 7998, Fax: 00322 284 9998; web site www.andrewduffmep.org

Go top

Local Party

Alderman Chris Oxley, Pilgrim Cottage, Coleman Green, Wheathampstead AL4 8ES
Phone 01582 834238;

Marion Oxley, Pilgrim Cottage, Wheathampstead.  Phone 834238

Paul Edelston, 33, Tudor Road, Wheathampstead AL4 8NW  
Phone 01582 833892 email   paul.edelston@ntlworld.com

Cllr Judy Shardlow - As above

Focus Editor TBA

Go top

Printed (hosted) by Wheathampstead.net,
published & promoted by N Alatortsev on behalf of Jon Bareham and Wheathampstead Liberal Democrats, all of 9 Hatfield Rd, St Albans AL1 3RR